Words, Just Words

by Joanne Marie Firth

Winter and I

The degrees drop

The wind bites

The days so short

And long the nights

*******

Bones feel brittle

And ache with pain

The body reacts

With strengh to sustain

*****

Awaken slowly

Shuffling along

Sipping hot coffee

With a desire to prolong

*****

Push into the day

That beckons ahead

When push comes to shove

I’d rather go back to bed

******

Obligations to meet

I’m the responsible one

So much to do

Before anything fun

*****

A simple routine

Excecuted with care

Washing and sweeping

And cooking with flair

*****

Me and my apron

One and the same

I don it each day

With more pride than shame

******

Too cold to go out

That’s one excuse

No one to go with

With me, the recluse

*****

It’s not ordinary

Nor boring or dull

What I do with my life

Keeps me quite full

*****

A winter’s night

A dreary season

Offset with scents

To adjust my reason

*****

Baked goods galore

Candles alight

Gloom on the outside

Yet inside so bright

******

Winter and I

We get along well

I’m a homebody you know

With few dreams to quell

February 21, 2013

Coventry CT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Winter and I

  1. this made me think how right in the middle of winter is my favorite holiday ~ Christmas, with good food, family, friends, love ~ surrounded by cold and forced isolation for months and nothing growing, just frozen.

    of course, i live in the desert where the weather is fair, but it feels like winter in my soul sometimes, you know what i mean?

    beautifully written, Jo! xoxox

  2. I like that despite the brittle bones that ache and all the things to do before “fun,” in the end, your fondness for winter is what comes through.

  3. Thanks’ Diane. It’s a poem about winter, I intentionally tried to evoke a winter feeling with the words. You got it. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment. All is well.

  4. Diane_Can on said:

    You’re quite the writer Joanne. I could feel so much of the feeling of this poem. <Hard to explain.
    : ) Hope all is okay with you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

