My Little World

My little world

Is walls

With art

And pictures

*****

Is space

With things

Given to me

From my childrens’ hands

*****

Is tidy

And cared for

And looked after

And never taken for granted

*****

Is warm

Or cold

As I need it to be

As I choose it to be

Just right

*****

Is comfortable

In its shabby way

Things of old

Things of yesterday

Always a seat

Empty and waiting

*****

Is safe

The lock on the door is broken

And always stays locked

All by itself

I don’t know why

That’s how broken things are

*****

My little world

Likes to keep me in it

Sheltered from the noise

And the mess

And the scary things

All around it

My little world

My little place

My little home

11/2/2013

Coventry CT

Image

4 thoughts on “My Little World

  1. Joanne, I can’t tell you just how wonderful this piece is. I saw you and your little world…so simply stated, but conveying so much!

    • Thanks so much Joanne. You are always so supportive of my simple little poems. It just rolled out in a few seconds. I truly appreciate the time you took to stop by to read and comment. It means so much to me. xo

Leave a Reply

