Lace Curtains

Posted: March 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

When I wrote this I had given myself a little challange. I thought it would be fun to pick an object in my house and write about it. This is what I came up with.

Lace Curtains

Flowing in rhythmic beauty, subtle folds

Patterns worthy of delicate repetition

Playfully diffusing the day’s sun

A garden of woven delight between scalloped edges

*****

Enhancing a pane weathered by years

Teasing the eye that looks can be deceiving

Snowy white or palest hue

Bold as American blue

*****

Set in motion, a breeze cheating its way in

Swishing and swirling

A dance befitting the lovely pair

One could only dream of being as graceful

*****

Through the ages, a timeless adornment

Passed from mother to daughter and beyond

The years of valued service not evident

A sentimental statement, if only through imagination

January 08

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. Caroline says:

    What a fun idea! And beautiful, I can almost picture what they look like. Agree with previous comments my talented friend! Have a great day and keep on writing!!! :o)

  2. Janblack47 says:

    I so loved this Joanne, I can picture the curtains vividly and the sentiments are magical, you have such a way with words, thank you for sharing:-)

  3. Inciteme says:

    Your ability to produce such artful words, with such frequency, is an admirable talent indeed…you’ve definately made a fan out of me..:)

  4. wonderful ~ wonderful ~ wonderful

  5. Linda Adcock says:

    This one provokes some very vivid soothing images – I love it sis!

  6. Dani H says:

    Lovely, Joanne! PLEASE let that damn muse out of the closet! I would never have imagined that a verse about curtains could be so evocative, so beautiful! Thank you for sharing your words. You brighten my day.

Leave a Reply

