Witness

Posted: March 31, 2010 in Uncategorized
I wrote this poem after viewing the paintings of   http://www.myspace.com/samanthakeelysmith who I came across on My Space a couple of years ago. I love art, all kinds and was astonished to have such a strong worded reaction to her work. I hope it happens again at some point in time.

Witness

Eyes pleasantly focused, mind uncluttered and clear,

Gazing upon beauty, sences beginning to stir.

Silence is quiet, yet there’s always a sound,

A tear dropping slowly and meeting the ground.

Memories lifted and hurled through my head,

For what I see, reminds me, a warmth starts to spread.

A day long gone by when there was planted a seed,

A paradise beckoned and it started to feed.

Floating so gently in a liquidy lair,

A breathtaking landscape, barely aware.

Light filtering softly, source quite unknown,

Bestowing its brilliance on this etherial home.

Moments start ticking as I slowly awaken,

How peaceful and soothing this journey I’ve taken.

A stark white canvas set apart from the rest,

A painters pure heart boldly put to the test.

A birth taking place one stroke at a time,

Color has reason as  word has a rhyme.

As something unseen comes into plain view,

A story is told with each shade and hue.

Myself as my witness I attest the above,

I’ve now seen the truest presentation of love.

January 2008

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. joannefirth says:

    Wow thanks Randy. You’re saying I painted a picture, and I wrote about a series of paintings. How art can go round and round. This is one I am proud of. Thanks so much. ❤

  2. inciteme says:

    Beautiful! You paint a vivid picture of love in action, good for you! This is one of my favorites! 🙂

  3. joannefirth says:

    Oops, I spelled your name wrong, par for course today. Sorry. 🙂

  4. joannefirth says:

    Thank you Carolline! I can’t take any credit for this one, the paintings put the words into my head, I just jotted them down for safe keeping. And BTW, I bet your words don’t suck at all. I would love to read them somethime. ❤

  5. Caroline says:

    Wow. You are one of the few friends who constantly amaze me. Just when I think I’ve seen your ‘best’ or ‘truest’ work, you post something phenominal! My words suck – but really, truly this is great!! Truly. ;o)

  6. Dani H says:

    Stunning…..I need a whole new vocabulary to describe your words, Joanne. {And I love that the artist is older than me.} ;-P Love you.

Leave a Reply

