What the Heck is Nothing?

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

What the Heck is Nothing?

Thinking about words bring me to silly places at times. Pondering meanings and plowing through my limited vocabulary. Today I got stuck on “nothing”. What the heck is nothing? Really? It has its own word, if it were truly nothing how could it even be identified.

Other words, similar, but not quite, describe nothing as the absence of something. Void, empty, invisible, vacant and perhaps barren. I’m sure there are more and using a thesaurus may drive home my point more effectively, since this is just a passing distracting thought, what’s in my head serves the purpose.

Words are tricky, when you spend some time thinking about them, as I do. I forgive the word nothing for toying with me today. For popping out of nowhere to challenge me. Hmmmm. Nowhere, where the heck is nowhere?

Comments
  1. inciteme says:

    And I’m grateful you didn’t. 🙂

  2. joannefirth says:

    Thank you Dani and Randy…I should have deleted this, just some very silly random thoughts. Thanks so very much!

  3. inciteme says:

    Nothing, the essence of everything, has found your view to see. It hasn’t been the first time and it won’t be the last time; but, it’ll always be without time. Thankyou for reminding me. 🙂

  4. Dani H says:

    I hope you do more posts like this one {{without posting less poetry, of course!}} ~ I enjoy Joanne musings. Seeing where your mind wanders ~ it’s much more organized than my mind. I could start with nothing and end up with peanut brittle instead of nowhere. ;-P Love you! *big hugs*

Leave a Reply

