The Blue Plastic Box

Posted: May 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today I opened the blue plastic box that  I open occasionally when I need a physical reminder.  This is what I found today. All previous visits to the box I must have overlooked this carefully folded piece of paper. I certainly realize that being very sentimental must be hereditary. Thank you mom.

My New Friend or My Friend and I

by Joanne Marie Ludlow (Firth)  9-18-77

I have a new friend, whom I like so well,

About this friend to no one I’ll tell.

*****

She comes to see me but once a day,

And gone is her hunger as she hurries away.

*****

I envy my friend, for she hasn’t a care,

When she leaves each day, I know not where.

*****

Words between us shall never be,

For she is what she is, and I am but me.

*****

To my friend, I give just what she needs,

A special feeling inside, to me she feeds.

*****

My friend and I each have our own world,

You see, I am a person and she is a squirrel.

September, 18, 1977

Age 19

Manchester, CT

Comments
  1. Dani H says:

    How marvelous to know your mother’s a poet, too, and to actually have poetry that she wrote! A lovely poem. Thank you for sharing, bunny. *big hugs* ❤

    • joannefirth says:

      Thank you so much hunny. It was a little poem I wrote that my mom must have tucked away. I found it today for the first time in the blue plastic box and it was such a nice little surprise. ❤

      • Dani H says:

        I guess I didn’t read past the year and thought your mother wrote it ~ sorry. Special that she kept it. ❤

  2. Caroline says:

    How cool – I want a box like that, to keep all of the important sentimental things I want to keep, but most of the time lose. I may have to start one. Very nice poem – cute little squirrel, please keep them coming 🙂

    • joannefirth says:

      Awesome, it really does make things extra special when you have somewhere to keep them. Like a little time capusule always guaranteed to bring joy when opened. Thanks for stopping by my little sweetie. ❤

  3. Joanne Schiffbauer says:

    How very sweet! Cute ending…Didn’t see that coming!

Leave a Reply

