If I Told the World My Secrets

Posted: May 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

If I told the world my secrets

Some would never tell

Some may get repeated

Some might buy or sell

*******

If I told the world my secrets

Would it cleanse my troubled soul

Or would  it add another burden

And eventually take its toll

*****

If I told the world my secrets

Would it even hear?

Would it stop and pay attention?

Lend an undivided ear?

*******

If I told the world my secrets

To people, one by one

It could very well take a lifetime

For it ever to be done

*******

If I told the world my secrets

Would it love me any less?

Would it wrap its arms around me

Gently encouraging me to confess?

********

If I told the world my secrets

I would hope it understood

For choosing full disclosure

Can make things right and good

*******

It doesn’t really matter

The secrets that you keep

The world pretends to know you

Based on surface less than deep

********

If I told the world my secrets

It wouldn’t be surprised

Because when I try to keep them

It can see them in my eyes

******

May 29,  2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. Caroline says:

    Love this Joanne!! It hits home on many levels really. Keep up the awesome work!! Miss seeing you on Twitter (I’ve been swamped lately) but I hope to catch up with you soon!! p.s., same with our lovely Dani! xoxo

  2. Linda says:

    So good to see you writing again!!! What secrets????????????????????????

    LOL I love you sis!!!

  3. Joanne Schiffbauer says:

    What a lovely poem; one that so many can relate to on so
    many levels. You really are an interesting woman and,
    getting more interesting all the time! Time to get your
    “SHINE” on!!

    • joannefirth says:

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I’m so glad that you “got it”. It was meant as a universal commentary about secrets in general.

      I would so love to get my “SHINE” on, as soon as I get out the silver polish and get some of this old tarnish off me. 😉

      Thanks again, Joanne. ❤

  4. Dani H says:

    This is brilliant, bunny! If I told the world my secrets, they’d probably burn me at the stake. ;-P I love, love, LOVE that this is a current work. {btw, I’ll email you soon.} Hope you’re taking good care of yourself. *biggest squishiest hugs full of love* ❤

    • joannefirth says:

      Oh it’s so good to see you out. Miss you terribly, just so you know. Hope all is ok. Thanks for your comment.

      I think we all carry secrets around, and if we put them all on the table…they really wouldn’t be so bad after all. We’re only human.

      Hope to see you and your blog back soon! Love you Dani. ❤

Leave a Reply

