Shaking Off The Blues

Posted: July 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Try as  I might

It’s always a fight

Erupting into a dark, blue mood

Quiet, alone with tendencies to brood

********

Trying to remember when it began

Thinking back to when my carefree mood ran

Reacted, perhaps, to something said

Or a fluctuating chemical displaced in my head

*********

Shaking off the blues, yes, I’m a pro!

Fighting like hell to climb over that low

So many ways to turn it around

Very strong will, assists the rebound

**********

Keeping occupied with a pleasant task

Or someone helping without being asked

Blues, you have no hold on me!

If you try to hang on, I’ll set you free

************

It’s taken practice and very much of it

Blues are not welcome, nor invited to visit

Keeping things in perspective is a good way to shake

Things aren’t as bad as the blues try to make

*************

Shaken, not stirred, blues if your near me

You don’t stand a chance, listen and hear me!

Just writing this down, did wonders, relief!

Blues visits are best, when blues visits are brief.

**********

July 26, 2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. LunaJune says:

    emotions bubble up
    remember always
    to leave the cap off,
    so they just float off into the air
    let them come
    let them go

    we all have our own way to
    shake the blues away
    thanks for sharing yours Joanne :~)

  2. Dani H says:

    you might sing the blues
    now and then… not long ’cause you’re
    a rock and roll babe

    • joannefirth says:

      You got that right hunny bunny…..I am a rock and roll babe. Turn it up, turn it up REAL loud and those blues just run for cover. Thanks as always for your support and encouragement. You are so special to me, and that is something I could never put into words. ❤

  3. Diane_Can says:

    Straight from the heart (and soul), and well written. Wonderful. You’ve got a gift, Joanne. Keep going! ❤

  4. Joanne Schiffbauer says:

    I think you won by a “Knockout!”
    twyttlededum -1 Blues -0

    Brunch101

    • joannefirth says:

      Indeed Joanne, I have a mean left hook. Thanks for your clever, as always, comment and visit and also for the continued encouragment for my little words. You are appreciated more than you know. Many, mnay thanks! ❤

  5. joannefirth says:

    Caroline, I think you read it before I was done editing. I accidently posted then messed around with it a little bit more. Thanks sweetie. Blues…..get the heck away from me and you! As, always thanks for visiting, supporting and commenting, it means so much!!

  6. Caroline says:

    Love. this. Yes – brief visits from this emotion are always better than long ones. :o)

  7. Diana says:

    This is perhaps not the right reaction, but you made me smile with this one.

    • joannefirth says:

      Diana, that’s too cute. I can understand it though. We all have our own little secret ways to get out of those yucky moods. Thanks. I think you may have read it while I was still editing. I posted it accidently and rewrote a bilt. Thanks so much for the visit and comment. ❤ And…..I'm glad it made you smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

