Home

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Home is where you hang your hat

toss a ball

or swing a bat

*******

Home is where the family meets

talking and laughing

in comfy seats

*********

Home is where the meal is served

and treats are given

when deserved

*********

Home is where you are by yourself

reading a book

or dusting a shelf

**********

Home is where you go to sleep

resting your head

3 pillows deep

***********

Home  for some, a cardboard box

crumpled up paper

and mismatched socks

**********

Home can be on the streets of LA

where waiting in line

is the rule of the day

***********

Home is where ever you wish it to be

some people see home

as simply being home free

************

August 9, 2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. joannefirth says:

    Thanks Sis!! Love you. ❤

  2. Linda says:

    Loved it!!!!!!! Keep writing more Sis!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Dani H says:

    The dichotomy is so striking between “three pillows deep” and in “a cardboard box.”

    I love the way you rhymed the first and third lines. You are so much more talented than I am in poetry and prose (which I’m too afraid to even try) plus you can rhyme! I fail miserably every time I attempt it. I love this, bunny, especially the final verse.

    Home for me is whatever city my daughter and grandchildren live in. If they move, my daughter is willing to take me with them, especially if they get to move to Europe. I keep threatening my granddaughter that when she goes to college in six years, I’m going to move wherever she is. 😉

    Thank you for a wonderful poem that stands on its own plus makes us look at the disparity between haves and have nots.

    *Love* & *Squishy Hugs* ❤

    • joannefirth says:

      Wow! I’m always amazed at how you “get it”. Thank you, part of that poem was written almost 20 years ago and is somewhere in storage. The rest of it just came to me, very suddenly and lightening fast. No idea why…..not for me to think about. Just my job to write it down and “capture” when it comes. Thanks so much. Much love and giant sized bear hugs. ❤

      Just a little “secret” about rhyming….you have a word you want to find something to rhyme with….my brain, just goes letter by letter through the alphabet til I hit on one. Sort of like playing BINGO! Mostly though, with the poetry, It just comes out in one big chunk, more or less…already written and rhymed. Really strange I know, but that’s the honest truth.

      • Dani H says:

        Not strange ~ if any of my poetry is decent, it’s because it comes to me complete and I just rush to get it down before the words disappear. The ones I “try” to write are always crap. That was part of why I stopped writing in May? April? Just started writing again a little. Thanks SO much for the tip about finding a rhyme! I’m excited that I “got it” ~ sometimes I’m way off base with what the poet means. You and Becky say I get yours and that makes me happy! <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

