It’s Cool Outside

Posted: August 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

Breaking through a  heat event

of personally catastrophic proportions

of being trapped inside

of windows’ moistened surfaces obscuring the view

of the artificial breeze from the air cooling machines

of the noise, constant and deafening

********

Tonight, doors and windows open

the air is dry

the air is cool

the breath I take in is not labored and laden down with lead heavy humidity

the bare skin of my arms, face, neck and legs are not shrouded in uncomfortable

the anxiety of fearing overheating  is dissipating

the wooded evenings’ natural noise

is constant and deafening

and preferred.

***********

It’s cool outside  this evening

It’s time to end this little  time capsule of words now

so that I may walk through the quiet of inside

to the  cool  of outside

to sit

to  listen

to feel

to enjoy the long overdue equalization of temperature

to breathe

**********

August 14, 2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. Joanne Schiffbauer says:

    You, my dear, have a way with words!! You gather them and create lovely canvases. Reading your poems is like
    going to an Art Gallery!…Thanks for the show!

    BrunchAt Eleven

  2. joannefirth says:

    Awww, thanks so much Caroline. Sometimes I take for granted how beautiful my surroundings are. This past heat wave made it virtually impossible to enjoy the simplicity of sitting out on a summer night and just soaking it all in.

    Tonight’s cool is just a brief respit, humidity back on the way….that’s why I had to caputure it quickly. Haha.

  3. Caroline says:

    Love it! Hottest day in a while here today, but I love your descriptions. I could soak up that kind of quiet, calming breeze – in the weather and in my own life. Beautiful Joanne. xo

  4. Dani H says:

    Lovely, bunny. That’s how I feel when it’s cool enough to go sit on my balcony. Should be able to do that again in October, definitely by November. ;D Love you! *BIG HUGS*

    • joannefirth says:

      Yes…I love when you talk about your balcony, it sounds so beautiful. Thank you sweetie for reading and commenting. Let’s get that weather perfect again for your balcony visits. ❤

  5. Becky says:

    This is really nice Joanne.
    Reminds me of the calm I used to feel going to sleep at my grandparents house during the summers with the windows open and the cool breeze wafting in — lovely.

Leave a Reply

