All I Ask

Posted: September 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

People speak and do,  I listen, I see

Taking in their words, their actions

Their pauses, their tone, their absence

 It seems fine in real-time

*********

My mind tricks me

It causes hesitation

In my reaction

To the words and deeds of others

********

Seemingly innocuous

In the moment

Eventually the undercurrent becomes clear

Dissatisfaction and rejection echo long after

*********

It is not my intention

To draw criticism

Or speculation

I pass no judgments

*******

I choose not to conform

To what others consider the norm

No need for intrusion

Yet, unsolicited it arrives

********

A quiet life is all I ask

I’m still here

Everyone else is there

I grant them their leave with no remorse

*********

It is not my intention

To ignore nor neglect

My time zone has evolved

To one that suits my needs

*********

I may be unavailable

But I’m not unreachable

If you choose to accept

Life on my terms

*********

The earth revolves around the sun

As I used to revolve around you

And you and you and you

Don’t deny me my time to revolve around me

**********

September 5, 2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. joannefirth says:

    Thanks dear sis, as always. Love you too!

  2. Linda says:

    Again, well done dear sister! Love you!

  3. joannefirth says:

    Thanks very much Ralph. I see you out there. 🙂 Very kind of you to stop by and read my little poem. ❤ Oh, and I saw that you subscribed and was tickled pink. I couldn't find anywhere on your blog to subscribe. I'll have to check again. I looked everywhere. Thanks again my friend. ❤

  4. ralphrc says:

    Very heartfelt, very deep, and very true. Thanks, Joanne.

  5. joannefirth says:

    Mia, it means so much to me that you take the time to stop by my little blog and read my humble offerings. Thanks for sharing the fact that it resonates with you, that is the biggest reason, I believe I was touched with somewhat of an ability and love for words. To share and possibly connect universal feelings that we all have. Thank you for very kind praise. ❤ ❤

  6. Mia Rose says:

    Wonderful poem, Joanne! It resonates with me 🙂

  7. Dani H says:

    Wow! This is AMAZING! I think one of my favorites. I love every verse ~ EVERY verse! But your ending just blows me away:

    “The earth revolves around the sun
    As I used to revolve around you
    And you and you and you
    Don’t deny me my time to revolve around me”

    and I REALLY identify with:

    “Seemingly innocuous
    In the moment
    Eventually the undercurrent becomes clear
    Dissatisfaction and rejection echo long after”

    You are such a gifted, brilliant poet! The thing I’m missing most about twitter is being able to RT my friends’ posts to share your beautiful words with more people. Thank you for sharing with us. Love your poetry, bunny. Love you. *Biggest Squishiest So Proud of You Hugs*

    • joannefirth says:

      Oh my goodness, I wrote this one quickly and didn’t think much about it. Sort of funky moody evening. Dani, you so flatter me, but what I the very best is that is reaches you and maybe sharing our mutual issues about life will help us both become truly satisfied some day. Thank you so much for your very kind words. I love you g-friend. Now hurry up back on Twitter…..<3 and a giant polar bear hug til I squish you and you scream with laughter. ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

