Adrift….Poetry In ~~~Slow~~~ Motion

Posted: September 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

You are alone

You are adrift

The vessel, low profile

An inner tube perhaps

*****

The body of water

Longer than wide

And rather serpentine

The current, propels gently onward

******

The temperature, comfortable

The water, cool and clean

The sky, as skies are on a perfect day

The breeze, an intermittent reminder that you are wearing skin

******

Your eyes closed

Trusting each element that encompasses you

Toes playing and tenderly splashing

Fingertips lazily dipping

*****

Having a human body eludes you

You are neither thirsty, nor hungry

Nor in pain, nor in any distress

All that can be, is in harmonious balance

******

You are human

You exist for stimulation

Your sightless senses surrender the craving

Just then, honeysuckle scented air fills you

*******

You have allowed this time to happen

Renewal and revival of just being

Time has no hold on you

No beginning and no end

*****

You have the freedom and choice

To remain or simply hold sacred the memory

The memory of being held in the arms of peace

September 11, 2010

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. Dani H says:

    Stunningly beautiful ~ I actually relaxed as I read it. I would have closed my eyes, too, but then I couldn’t have read the rest. It was also a lovely surprise because the title “Adrift” made me expect it to be sad, maybe about being confused or not knowing where life is taking you. (That’s my frame of mind at the moment.) Truly exceptional, bunny! Love it! Love you! *Big Squishy Hugs* And thank you for the relaxing, soothing ride.

    • joannefirth says:

      Thanks hunny. I was thinking of figuring out a way to read that one aloud and post my voice. Becky tried that on one of hers. I will have to check it out. Your words are always too kind. I’m so glad it made you feel relaxed. Much love and giant squeezy hugs my dear one. ❤

Leave a Reply

