Adrift….In Paint This Time

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Uncategorized
It’s not a regular thing, me getting out my paints. Last night I did. I had an unusually difficult day and laying down the layers upon layers of  paint, filled something inside me that had been removed. Painting is not really my thing but when I do it, I get lost for a little while. Completely absorbed in the colors and texture andwhat is happening between the brush and the media. Jackson Pollock, one of my favorite artists is quoted as saying. “I deny the accident” . When asked by an interviewer about how his paint ends up where it does on the canvas, despite his unusual way of applying the paint. This was the period of his greatest works, when he was painting on the floor. In my painting, you can see the inner tube is empty and there is a little smudge of red in the water right above the letter “D” in Adrift. At first, I tried to fix the accident with the red paint, then I thought….no, I shall deny this accident and let it be. There may very well have been sharks in the water on this day. It sure felt like it anyway. Enjoy.
 
“Adrift” Fabric Paint on a piece of old cardboard.
September 14
Coventry CT
Comments
  1. Dani H says:

    I love that you paint as well as write. And I know you sew. I love sewing and drawing and lots of art forms that I need to get back to doing. Thank you for sharing. I’d love to hop into that inner tube and float, adrift. Love, Hugs & Smooches ❤

    • joannefirth says:

      It’s very relaxing to do any kind of craft you like. I have all kinds of stuff here, crochet, fabric, paints and I buy little arts and crafts kits when I find them cheap. Hop on into the inner tube any time you like. I think it’s safe to go back into the water now. Sharks swam away. 😉 Big giant super bear hugs til I squish you into little pieces. ❤

  2. Linda Adcock says:

    Maybe you should add a shark fin!!! hahahaha – I really like it sis!

    • joannefirth says:

      Hahahaha! After our talk last night about the “men folk” maybe I should add 4 or 5 shark fins. Thanks sis! Love you. ❤ Also, you were so right about that call Vincent went on that I told you about. He finally broke down and told his father that it really upset him and reminded him of G's aneurysm. I'm glad he got it out. He was holding it all in since the call and was just beside himself. You hit that nail on the head. My smart sissy. ❤

Leave a Reply

