That One Thing

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

For me

it’s always

that one thing

that rears its head

beckons me

from the pile

of the other things

******

That one thing

to be addressed

to be dealt with

that needs my attention

that won’t go away

*****

That one thing

that threatens my resolve

that tears through my composure

that taxes me beyond my limits

that feels insurmountable

*****

That one thing

I awaken to

I push my head back down because of

in spite of

it could be anything

it could be nothing

I know though

it will persist

it will hound me

if  I continue to ignore it

*****

That one thing

can stir up

all of the rest

domino effect

tumbling

entertaining

until the last one falls

*****

Setting them up

again

starts with

that one thing

and when that’s right

the others

will once again

stand tall

side by side

methodically spaced

until

ready to tip

again

from

that one thing

January 6, 2011

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. Heart says:

    The key words are always, “That one thing that threatens my resolve” and then “Setting them up again”..
    I love how we all do this over and over and over again Joanne.. We are all human and at the same time share so much resilience and perseverance.. Great poem!

  2. Thank you Dani. Weird how it popped into my head, that one thing and I didn’t know how to articulate it either. Thank goodness for automatic pilot. ❤ ❤

  3. dani says:

    This is truly brilliant… stunning… I know exactly what you mean, but could never have articulated it so well. I love your poetry, bunny. I love you! *Sparkly Squishy Hugs* ♥

Leave a Reply

