Full

Posted: February 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

Platitudes

Attitudes

Foggy,

Faulted

Latitudes

*****

Stepping over

Stepping round

Cautiously testing

Weakened ground

******

Endless barrage

Inclement weather

Distant the sun

So short, my tether

******

And so, it comes

And too shall pass

For now, I’ll fight it

With bones of glass

*****

For giving over

Is giving up

No white flag

Nor half empty cup

*****

My spirit thrives

On the win

Wrestling reasons

To not give in

******

I rest here now

To reap the sowed

Pushing back the doubt

Which I have stowed

******

I fill my cup

Haltingly steady

No splashes or spills

Full and now ready

*****

February 6, 2011

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. […] . Joanne Marie Firth  { @Twyttlededum }  has been a writer and poet most of her life.  she has a way with words that physically conveys her power and quite often leaves me breathless. this is one of those poems. please click “read more” below to see the complete poem {and in its proper format} ~ it won’t disappoint. oh, and she’s also my bestest friend, but that doesn’t bias me in the least. . “Full”   by Joanne Marie Firth Platitudes Attitudes Foggy, Faulted Latitudes ***** Stepping over Stepping round Cautiously testing Weakened ground ****** Endless barrage Inclement weather Distant the sun So short, my tether ****** And so, it comes And too shall pass For now, I’ll fight it With bones of glass ***** For giving … Read More […]

  2. Janet Blackford says:

    Really moving and powerful poetry Joanne, you certainly have a way with words ❤

    • Thank you Jan for taking the time to stop by to read and comment. It is a comfort to me when the words come. I always feel better after I’ve written them down. I guess that’s what writing is all about. ❤

  3. Becky says:

    Beautiful. Just beautiful, so few words needed to express so many thoughts. Deep, moving, life.

    • Thank you Becky! I am sure as a writer, you will understand me saying this. The words tumble around and keep tumbling, that’s when I know it’s time to jot them down. As soon as I do that, they stop. A big help in clearing up some persistant thoughts. I appreciate your visit and your thoughtful comment. ❤

  4. juliemangano says:

    Beautiful poem, filled with strength and courage. xoxo

  5. dani says:

    i tried to pick out my favorite line, but i can’t ~ i LOVE this poem. really amazing! as you are amazing! Love you SO much, bunny! ♥ *Sparkly Squishy Hugs* ♥

    • I don’t know what I would do without those “♥ *Sparkly Squishy Hugs* ♥” that you so generously grace me with Dani.
      And guess what I’m going to do now? Send back ♥ Giant Bear Hugs♥ , they may have a few sparkles on them which makes them all the more powerful. Thank you! ❤

Leave a Reply

