….”And Could You?”

Posted: June 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

They are so brief

and precious

our moments together

now that he is 16

busy, on the go

from dawn ’til dusk

*****

A few hurried minutes

before his heavy eyes close

he and I

a dog and a cat or two

saying goodnight

saying I love you

running through our check list

of all the things he needs

for tomorrow

start to finish

all the things he needs

until he ready to sleep again

*****

This is the only time I have

to be his mother

to be present

each night, the same

except this night

a special request

over and above everything else

“and could you?”

******

“Yes, I could”

even though

he should have asked sooner

even though

it was late

even though

it was hard for him to ask

I could

and I would

to ease his mind

to show my strength

to let him know, that’s why I’m here

every night

before he sleeps

to make extra sure

he has what he needs

to live his young life to the fullest

to wake up feeling that it’s all ok

prepared and ready

to learn and grow and be confident

in his choice of endeavors

*****

For as long as he needs

I’ll be there to say goodnight

to reassure

to lift a  burden

to comfort and praise

to thank

and most of all

to be ready

and willing

and available

for when he says

“and could you?”

“Yes, I could.”

Goodnight

*****

June 4, 2011

Coventry CT

“And could you bake something for my school party?”

“Yes, I could”

And I would

And I did

And I will……

Because, I’m their mom.

Comments
  1. This poem has touched my soul. Thank you for writing it. I have just been introduced to you and your work in the last few minutes through Twitter (specifically Joanne of OpinionstoGo). She said that you are “a very special lady.” I agree. I will cherish my time with my son even more after reading this piece. Thank you. (yet another) Joanne

  2. terrepruitt says:

    This is lovely. It reminded me of a friend of mine who is a great mom (too). I am going to share it with her.

    Thank you.

    What kind of cookies?

    • The cookies were interesting. I didn’t have any cookie ingredients, so I made them using part of a cookie recipe on a chocolate cake mix box. Instead of vanilla, which I didn’t have, I used some Hershey Syrup. Very easy actually using the cake mix instead of flour. They came out just delicious. Soft and chewy and chocolatey. I appreciate you sharing this with your friend as well as your visit and comment. Have a great week. 🙂

  3. dani says:

    i think there are very few things that make a child happier than fresh-baked cookies.

  4. Becky says:

    Yum!
    But… besides yum. You are a good mother. I have these requests often myself… I do what I can and sometimes I say “yes I can” and sometimes I say “I can’t”.
    Motherhood is tricky.

    • It is tricky and sometimes we have to say “no, I can’t”. Sometimes, it is just impossible to say yes. Knowing you Becky, you say yes a lot more than you say no. You are a good mother too. xoxo

Leave a Reply

