Renewal

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

From the beginning

tangled and jarred

answers before questions

future plans scarred

*****

Reality captured

what I was on the run from

incarcerated briefly

fretting calls to come

*****

It all seemed quite bleak

and all about loss

painstakingly set in motion

countless hurdles to cross

******

A step or two forward

then swept off my feet

no breaks or shortcuts

just deadlines to meet

******

Withered and worried

frightened and sick

counting the seconds

tick, tick, tick,, tick

******

Ever so slowly

like the greening of grass

regaining my foothold

from the toxic trespass

*****

Nothing’s for certain

there are no guarantees

a vague language spoken

interpreters please

*****

To put this behind me

much room will be needed

learned some hard lessons

I wish I had heeded

******

Finding the key

is the task now at hand

unlocking potential

as I relearn to stand

******

Unassisted, determined

to crash through the wake

kicking the driftwood

just so it will break

*****

Beginning all over

time after time

wanting more reason

and getting more rhyme

******

As gem stones get tumbled

to unleash their shine

many stories to tell

the endings, all mine

*****

Adhere to these rules

when doubt turns to fear

reach out to someone

for arms or an ear

******

From the end forward

more gained than lost

renewal has happened

my life not the cost

******

One final token

before this poem ends

be diligent and careful

on what health depends

******

June 20, 2011

Coventry CT

“Be diligent and careful

on what heath depends”

Please.

Comments
  1. dani says:

    powerful emotions coming out from your words, bunny. i can relate and it IS through love, friendship and family that the renewal is found. “formal training” or “education” would not add ANYthing to your poetry because, as you said, your words come from your heart. to me that’s the best poetry on earth.

    i love you! ♥ YOU are an inspiration and your words part of my healing. ♥ *sparkly squishy hugs*

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Wow! Poets amaze me. Especially when I feel I “get it’ and I can stand there with my mouth hanging open thinking, “Wow that is so cool. She said something and I understood it. And it rhymed.” I often feel I am not “smart enough” for poetry because I read it and I am left thinking, “WHAT?” And others are all, “Oh that was great.” “I see what you meant.” “Oh how beautiful. You said it exactly like I was feeling it, but could say.” So I generally don’t even read it because I don’t understand it. But I feel I understand this and I FELT it.

    Thank you for sharing. With everything you write and everything you share I hope that it helps with the healing.

    • I know exactly what you mean about poetry. I don’t read that much of it, nor have I in my lifetime. I love that you said that you felt the little poem, because that’s what I do, I write from the heart. With no formal education in how to write, that’s the only way I know. Since I was very young, I fell in love with rhyming words and words in general. Even now, I play with words in my head. I will pick one, and go through the alphabet to try to find all the words that rhyme with it. Sometimes, I sit and think in rhyme or metaphor for hours, that’s when I have to write something down, so it will stop. Yes, this is helping with my healing, but I try to write in such a way that anyone can identify with the words, for any situation. Drawing from my own experience, then generalizing it so everyone can take something from it, and make it personal to them. I love words so much and when they touch someone, it is the best feeling in the world. Thank you!

  3. LunaJune says:

    the road to renewal
    to healing of soul
    Love the poem Joanne
    honest and true
    sending love and healing light to you

  4. Becky says:

    Renewal is happening all around us… and in us, in you.
    This is lovely Joanne, as are you.

  5. Thank you for writing this Joanne. Your thoughts, arranged into a beautiful rhythmic message for the love of life, warm my heart. ((hugs)) ☼ˆ◡ˆ☼

Leave a Reply

