Inhabited. A Photograph.

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yes, I know, it’s just a tree. Today, it was so much more.  I sat and watched an entire squirrel family bring this 50 foot tree to life. Chattering and screeching and chasing each other to the farthest ends of the branches. I thought for sure I would see one come careening down. To know I am the keeper of this habitat makes me feel lucky to live on a piece of property I know will continue to be home to any wildlife that comes along. A tiny effort to maintain nature as it is suppose to be, natural and welcoming to all creatures.

 

Comments
  1. terrepruitt says:

    Lovely.

    I am always happy when the critters come in our yard (except the ones that shove 5 or 6 peanuts in their mouth at once). I love that in this city where humans keep taking over all the space that animal live and eat/hunt, we can give them a place to get a peanut, get a drink, take a bath, and/or eat the peanut in relative peace and safety. I feel blessed.

Leave a Reply

