Introduction To Me

Posted: October 27, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I’ve read many autobiographies over the years. Always being fascinated by the tales of other people’s lives. I am most engaged reading about people who have overcome obstacles in their lives. People with great tenacity and will. I am one of those people and five years ago, after being deemed unable to continue working, due to illness, started to write about my own life. At that time, recovering from a lengthy stress related hospitalization, I had a lot of time on my hands. Reflecting on and mourning the loss of a career I loved. Grieving that I was taken out before I was done playing the game. My doctor told me flat-out that if I continued the fast road I was on, it would not be good. With much regret, I took his advice and retired at forty-nine years old. The following words were written by someone who was so angry and devastated that ill-health finally won and I lost.

By age forty-nine, I had been handled by more doctors than I could even fathom. From the age of six months, when it was discovered my left hip was badly deformed, I was placed in the arms of the medical profession. Unfortunately, through almost five decades, I was repeatedly placed back in those arms for a plethora of medical emergencies, illnesses and surgeries. At times, I would cry, “why me?”. “Why in the hell does everything bad happen to me?” “Why, when I try to get help with something, does it backfire and have major complications, only to make me worse before I was able to get better?”

I wrote and wrote for a few days. About 9 chapters in all, that took to me to my late teenage years. Once I got to that place, I had to stop, because that is when the shit started to hit the fan. Looking back, I simply couldn’t put any more of my life into words. There were not enough.

So, here it is, the Introduction of the words I put together about my life. The introduction to me.

Why Are My Doctors Trying To Kill Me?

Introduction

In my opinion, there are two kinds of people in this world. Healthy people and sick people. The healthy people are in great shape and have no time or patience for the sick people. The sick people want to be just like the healthy people, but they are sick. Not because they want to be, or try to be, (for the most part). They have just had the misfortune to be the recipient of an illness, disease, condition or addiction. Life is not always fair. The sick people do not wish the healthy people any ill will, or that they too become the victim of some awful malady. They only try the best they can to fit in and be as productive as possible, despite what heredity, genetics, environment, poor medical treatment and advice, or whatever else life has tossed their way.

The following story, is one woman’s account of so many medical disasters that one might believe this story to be fiction. No so. Re-living most of these borderline abuses and screw ups, and down right ignorance and insensitivity from the medical establishment is going to be painful, frightening, funny and terrifying. At 49 years old, I feel like I just about have a medical degree, from the inside, as a patient. A degree of which the educational process has taken almost five decades. And instead of a pretty and impressive certificate to hang, my reward is to still be alive to write this story.

One must take their own health matters seriously, research reliable resources, go with your gut instincts and never…..repeat, never, put all your eggs in one doctor’s basket. You may end up like me, scrambled…..yet still hanging in there, doing my best to be sunny side up. At this moment, I feel pregnant with the story I am ready to tell, and whatever happens, no one can ever say that she didn’t go down without a fight.

Most of the friends and family who have shared all or part of my life with me know how hard I have struggled. Swimming upstream with all my might, courage and intelligence against a strong current of medical misfortune. They know how hard I have tried to  learn and make sense out of wide variety of medical treatment and advice. I have read, researched, ranted and raved my way through more medical issues that it has become just plain unfathomable to me.

Being a humble, faithful and giving human being I made a vow to never give up, give in, or stop asking questions. If I aggravate someone in a white coat, hired by me, to do their high-paying job of keeping me healthy, then oh well. As far as I’m concerned, some of them can take their stethoscope and listen to their own heart through an oraface where the sun don’t shine.

I wish good health and happiness to everyone who may read this. To the healthy people, appreciate your health and feel so fortunate each day you wake up and do not have to take a pill or two. And for the sick and possibly mistreated people, I care, I understand and I want things to change more than you could ever know.

End Introduction

June, 2006

Coventry, CT

Within three months of writing this, my husband was diagnosed with a brain aneurysm. All I can say, is that life goes on, hang on to it dearly, count your blessings and cherish every day you feel well. I think I will post Chapter 1, next month.

October 27, 2011

Coventry, CT

Comments
  1. dani says:

    thank you for sharing, bunny! ♥ this is NOT self-indulgent ~ have you thought that someone may need to hear that it’s okay to question a doctor? too many still get intimidated or treat them as omniscient which can be VERY dangerous! you ARE such a beautiful {inside and out}, giving, caring, strong woman and i am grateful you are my bestie! *Love* & *Hugs* ♥ ♥ ♥

  2. Becky says:

    I love ALL of you. You’ve been a source of strength for me this year AND you kick my ass with honestly when I need it (frequently).
    Your story is a treasure because it’s you.

  3. Looking forward to each and every chapter. Hoping the final chapter will be titled “And They Lived
    Happily Ever After!”

  4. miguel says:

    As voyeuristic as it might seem, I can’t wait for Chapter 1! My admiration for you grows as I learn how much you have struggled yet you are never at a loss for kind words for other people.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I am so glad you are finally sharing what you wrote! God wants you to tell the story so go for it! Whe He orchestrates something He wants you to share there is someone who desparately needs to read it – go for it sis – it’s really not about you it’s about the person that really needs help right now! I love you so much and am so proud you took this step!

  6. manitisle says:

    So far, so good!! Thanks for sharing. >>>hugs<<<

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Next month? We have to wait??

Leave a Reply

