Dear Breast Cancer

Posted: November 6, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

November 6, 2011

Dear Breast Cancer:

I am writing you today to let you know a few things. The first thing I want to tell you is that you are the ultimate opportunist. You lurk around, trying to get a foot hold and if someone like myself, who wasn’t paying attention, you make your entrance and begin to wreak havoc. Taking full advantage of days, of years not being sought out and eliminated.

I was afraid of you, breast cancer. I kept my eyes closed  hoping to avoid having to deal with you. One day, I opened my eyes deciding it was high time to stop avoiding you and get myself checked. There you were. I knew you were there, I could feel you. Yet, I let fear keep me in the dark, where it felt safer. Honestly, it was a relief to finally know for certain that you arrived. Having spent so much time being afraid of what might happen, I allowed you time to do what you do, grow and spread.

As of this writing, breast cancer, I have spent the last year of my life fighting you. I fought you with everything I had and with every resource available to me. I fought you for myself, for my children, and for my friends and family. I fought you hard and now it is time for me to put down my gloves and move on. The damage you caused, breast cancer, will never be forgotten. The fear you put in my precious children, the strain of having to keep fighting you when I didn’t think I had anything left, will be remembered. You came into my life, unwelcome and now you are gone. Good riddance, you hideous monster you.

I don’t have a crystal ball, breast cancer. Nor do I fully understand or comprehend all of the statistics and data collected in your wake. I don’t know for sure what is going to happen years from now, nobody does. I do know, for now, I once again feel safe in my own body. I feel like I can face anything, now that I have faced you. I have learned to not be afraid of what I don’t know. And most of all I have learned to respect my one and only body and life enough to take much better care of it. An important lesson I needed to learn.

You have had your time here, breast cancer. I will be watching, diligently and using all the weapons at my disposal to keep you at bay. I can assure that you no longer have a hold on my thoughts, my future or my life. I am saying goodbye now breast cancer. Goodbye.

P.S. Beware, because soon you will gone from this world for good. There will be a cure. The day will come that you won’t bother anyone else. Your days are numbered, breast cancer. Your elimination is simply a matter of time.

Your former host,

Joanne Marie Firth

October 6, 2011

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. dani says:

    proud. of. you.
    i love you! ♥

  2. MrsWhich says:

    I’m late replying here, smart and brave lady. You can know that your strength sparks hope and strength far beyond you. And FYI, my 5yo promises that he will find a cure as soon as he’s learned enough.

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Nice. Good for you for using all that you had and good for you getting in the last word.

    Happy dances all around!

  4. Ralph Carrieri says:

    “Former Host” says it all! ❤

  5. Becky says:

    You’re brave and strong and perfectly fragile and all of that makes you perfectly you — cancer woman.
    Love.
    xo

  6. Well, I guess you told breast cancer a thing or two! A powerful and passionate post! Winner and still
    champion…Joanne Marie Firth!! YAY!

  7. j says:

    This gave me chills. I’m so proud of you. I wish I could celebrate with you in person. Big love to you, beautiful cancer-free woman!

  8. Becky Sain says:

    Yay you! You’re strong and brave and the perfect amount of fragile.

Leave a Reply

