How Far Is It?

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

How far is it?

from

Elation to exasperation

from

Hope to craving

from

Desire to disgust

How far is it?

from

Dream to nightmare

from

Trust to betrayal

from

Red to black

How far is it?

The answer lies

in one’s unique perception

in the course of self-reflection

the want of resurrection

How far is it?

from

lost to found

from

journey to scrapbook

from

down to up

How far is it?

From

Cold to comfort

From

Rain to sun

From

Pain to pleasure

How far is it?

I will tell you

It is as far

As the space

Between

The

Words

November 22,2011

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. terrepruitt says:

    Joanne’s comment shocked me. I thought I had read the post wrong, but no, I just saw something different. I didn’t feel angst and frustration. Sorry, I could be missing the mark. I felt joy, bright sun, and relief from a long journey traveled.

    It really is up to the person to decide how far it is from one emotion to the other. I choose to make it a very short distance when it is from a dark emotion to a light emotion. I’ll feel it, think about it, then move toward the light. I don’t like to dwell in the dark. Too easy to get lost.

    HUGS to you!

    • Joanne was on target as far as the first half of the poem goes. Positive to negative. Frustration with the falling and changing emotions. The poem changes in the second half, it is turned around from negative to positive. In the end, I’m saying the distance is only as far as the space between the words we use to describe how were are feeling. A small space. We all have our own personal perception of how far it actually is between the highs and lows. You are right, it is too easy to get lost, if you don’t find your way back to the light quickly. Hugs back to you.

      • terrepruitt says:

        Ok. I clued into her use of present tense and so that is why I was saying I must have missed it. Because I didn’t feel that you “are feeling” that way. As you said “were feeling”. And I choose to focus on the positive to when I was done reading that is the “taste” I was left with. 🙂 I am also not good at getting poems because I didn’t even “get” that you were saying the distance is only as far as the space between the words used. I thought it was space as in time between feelings/emotions.

        Either way . . . I think you are so awesome in the journey, in the time, in the words, in the space that it took you. YAY you!!!

  2. Joanne, your poem conveys so much angst and frustration that the reader can feel it.
    I’m so sorry that you are feeling this way. You’ve been on such a “high” lately and, It makes me sad that you’ve ended up in this place.

    I know you will bounce back. You are a tough cookie! My money is on you!

    • This was me putting things into perspective. I’m always bouncing back from one thing or another. The truth for me is that it is all a matter seeing it is not that far from place to place. What goes down, ALWAYS comes up again. Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment.

  3. Becky Sain says:

    This is very nice and weirdly exactly what’s on my scattered mind right now. It’s been a short trip from feeling great to feeling “kicked to the curb”. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

