Ringing In. Ringing Out.

Posted: December 29, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

It’s that time of year. Everyone is sending out good will and wishes for the brand new year. I’m thinking about how I usually approach a new year and how I am approaching it differently for 2012. Basically, I’m not setting my sites too high this year. Wishes of health, wealth and happiness are a given, but I’m taking it down a notch or two. Getting real. Keeping my expectations in line with the actual. Keeping the delusions of grandeur at bay. The following are things I hope the new year brings.

1. Good Health. The obvious and first on my list is health, for myself and my loved ones. The kind of good health that an asprin, or even a week of antibiotics can maintain.

2. Wealth. At this stage of my life, great wealth is out of reach and my options are limited. Having enough to keep a roof over the families’ head, food on the table and some occasional frivolous shopping is all I can ask. Anything over and above, like grand vacations, beach houses and brand new red convertibles are in the dream category, therefore, would be appreciated, but not expected. A little bit of bread in my pocket, some to keep and some to give away is enough wealth for me.

3. Happiness.  Generally, I’m happy. I try to spread the good stuff and keep most of the bad stuff to myself. Occasionally everything gets to me and I take a time out, waiting to feel alright again. Happiness is fleeting and can change instantly. I couldn’t possibly expect an entire year of glee, so I’m wishing for more happy minutes than sad ones. That seems real to me. Something I can live with.

4. Stress. There is always going to be stress. Living is stressful. Being the head of a household and leader of a family is stressful. Problems arise, appliances break, needs are expected to be met. Wishing for a stress-free year would be ridiculous. Instead, I’m going to do my best to keep my reactions to other people’s stress to a minimum and try to keep my stress from stressing other people out. There is not much anyone can do to help if my refrigerator breaks down or my roof starts to leak. It is up to me to deal and take care of life’s unfailing and unexpected problems. If I do need some emotional support, I know now, that I can ask.

5. Relationships. Aside from a large internet base of friends, I don’t have very many relationships. The one’s I have are my husband and my children. What I wish for my relationships in the coming year are patience, tolerance and respect. I give and do a lot for my family. At times, too much. I would like to pull in the reigns a bit this year. Let others use their brain power to figure things out, instead of picking my brain for the answers. I would like more cooperation and support as I try to maintain lives, finances and property. I don’t live alone, and I deserve to have some help when I ask. Attitude free help to boot. I love my family and would do anything for them, it’s time to let them see their weak spots and build on them for a more cohesive, satisfying family life.

6. Everything else. The above just about covers everything I could possibly wish for in the new year. Personally, I would like to remain creative, write something good and overall be able to continue to use my creative energy to keep me entertained. Being alone most of the time has me wishing for some real live friends. I adore the community on Twitter and Facebook but I need real companionship. Real face to face conversation. Real hugs. I truly think that it is not too late, nor am I too old to make new friends. Getting out each day, as I do, hopefully, will increase the likelihood of finding a friend. Time will tell and I have a whole new year to keep looking.

Overall, health, wealth, happiness and more manageable stress are what I hope the new year brings. I wish this for everyone. As we ring out the old year, take stock and look forward, we can each tweak these wishes to suit our individual needs. Honestly, 2011 was one of the worst years I’ve ever had. Asking for 2012 to be even  a little bit better, is real and I think well deserved. I’m going to do my best to stay awake until midnight on New Year’s Eve this year. I want to give 2011 a  hard kick in the ass before I ring in 2012. Ding, dong, the wicked year is dead!

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

12/29/2011

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. dani says:

    i love your idea of taking expectations down a bit ~ you still have needs and wants that you hope are met and a positive attitude but it is easier to be pleasantly surprised by more than we expect rather than being disappointed if we get less.

    i love you! you deserve all good things to come into your life, bunny! my wish for you {and everyone} is that 2012 be kind to us. *HUGS* ❤

    • I agree with you. It’s not that I don’t have expectations, it just that I realize that some things are going to remain the same, with little improvement. I have to continue to be satisfied with what I actually have. It begins with me, and if I feel content and happy there’s not much more I can ask for. Happy New Year hunny and thank you for coming by to read and comment.

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Happy New Year.

    Did you make it to midnight?

    I was awake but I was watching a movie and I missed midnight by two minutes. 🙂

    Internet friends are wonderful, but nothing beats a friend that you can talk to face-to-face and, as you said, hug and be hugged by. This is a great list of things to work on and towards, I am sure next year at this time you will be able to post about your success with each item! I look forward to that! Yay you!

    • Thank you Terre. I hope so too. I would love to have a real friend to have special times with. No, I didn’t make it until midnight. It was a quiet night and I watched two movies, had a bite to eat and fell asleep with my animals. We were all confident that the new year would make its entrance without us. I appreciate your visit, support and comment so much. Happy New Year!

  3. Linda says:

    Happy New Year Sis – may all of your requests be granted and may this truly be your most wonderful year! I love you and miss you so much and send you the biggest hug ever! Thank you so much for the cards – I got them both and they really lifted my spirits and made me feel so loved! Please know how much you are loved and appreciated for your kindness and caring ways! Enjoy your night sis and pray you make it to midnight!

  4. Anonymous says:

    You always have a wonderful way with words, love you sis and may we see each other a lot more in 2012!! Looking forward to it and some long girl talks!!

Leave a Reply

