The Rake

Posted: April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

A quiet tool

Unlike its noisy counterparts

How the neighbors

Love to break out their

Noisy machines

To manicure

Their pristine lives

To eradicate

All the debris

Collected since the last time

The grasses grew

******

Simply engineered

Of wood and steel

The handle makes way

To the working end

The teeth

To scratch at the earth

Biting deep into the soil

So much hunger

Ravenous

*****

So I have mated with

With this silent marvel

And have chosen it

To be my companion

The obliging thing

Could care less

If it leans against the lamppost

Or if it toils all the day long

Unearthing wild violets

Ferns and rich brown dirt

Fertile and emerging

It dances gracefully

Along with me

As I stumble

It holds me steady

And when I am ready to let go

It doesn’t look back

*****

We’ve traveled

Great distances

Mountains made of  everything

In it’s path

Heaping piles of leaves

Sticks and anything else

That fate has selected

That rage has been aimed at

All the neglect and apathy

That winter brings

The rake has the power

Once within my calloused hands

To reclaim what was mine

To begin with

******

At the end

Of the day

It leans

Quietly

Unbroken

By miles and miles

A million, I think

I feel

And I lean now

Hard

On whatever I can find

To hold me

And I have screamed

A million times

For a million reasons

And underneath

All of that

The wild violets grow

Gracious enough to pretend

They didn’t hear my screams

Thankful

For they were suffocating

They were obscured

All the beauty they have to offer

Would never have been found

I accept their gratitude

And humble myself

For low and behold

Underneath so much ugliness

Underneath so much neglect

Underneath so much pain

The wild violets

Show me

That I am not living in vain

And the value I hold

If nothing else

Is to know

Where to find

What I’m looking for

*****

The rake

Will lean

Until

I join it

Again

And I will

Because I will never be done

Looking

Searching

Seeking

Taming

And caring enough

To find

The

The wild violets

That grow

Within  me

*****

April 30, 2012

Coventry CT

Comments
  1. terrepruitt says:

    So funny. I was kinda thinking what Dani said. I mean, really, who can write about a rake? Pretty amazing. I was captivated.

    I am not a gardener so I never think about raking. But not too long ago it dawned on me that I could alleviate some of the mess in my yard via a rake. And it worked. I was happy. I need to do that again. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Hmmmm. Not sure why my replies are show up as anoymous. Dang wordpress.

  3. dani says:

    only you could write such a moving poem about a rake, my bestie! LOVE this! LOVE you! *giant squishy hugs*

  4. Anonymous says:

    That was so sweet June. A powerful tool, that’s for sure. Much more powerful in our strong hands though. Powerful enough to move mountians! Thank you kindly for visiting and commenting. We shall rake the earth clean, one small spot at a time. 🙂

  5. Janet Blackford says:

    I love this Joanne, I can picture you so clearly using your “Rake” and I understand, well done for the strong and poignant words. Much love xx

    • Anonymous says:

      Thank you Jan. It is literally about raking and also about life in general. We all do as much as we can, and then do a little bit more, just because we are women. xoxo

  6. OpinionsToGo says:

    Joanne, I can’t tell you how much I love your poem. It speaks volumns…says so much…I must read it again!

    • Anonymous says:

      You are so kind. I am flattered by your comment and smiling. Thank you so much for taking the time to read, twice and leave a beautiful comment. Lot’s of good stuff going out to you. 🙂

  7. what a wonderful uncovering :~)
    doubtful I will ever look at my own rake the same again

Leave a Reply

