I Don’t Feel Like

Posted: June 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

I don’t feel like

Cutting in a straight line

Following the directions

Or learning how to do it

The right way

*****

I don’t feel like

Answering the phone

Hearing that hesitation

Listening for that voice

Because the payment is late

*****

I don’t feel like

Thinking about food

Handling food

Preparing food

Waiting for people to eat the food

Or even eating the food myself

Because it upsets me

*****

I don’t feel like

Going to the mailbox

Shuffling the paperwork

Dealing with the dollars and cents of it all

Because there is not enough

To go around

Anymore

*****

I don’t feel like

Talking

Pretending

Smiling

Laughing

All the time

Because that is not how I feel

*****

I do feel like

Walking on the beach

Smelling flowers

Sitting under a blanket

With one of my children

Crying

Healing

Forgetting

Petting cats and kittens

Being alone

Not being alone

Giving

And receiving

Because these things

Make me feel

Alive

******

All the things

I don’t feel like doing

And all the things

I do

Make up a life

Of a woman

A mother

And everything else

I am

*****

Interchangeable

Flexible

Manageable

Likes

Dislikes

Life

June 8, 2012

Coventry CT

 

Comments
  1. dani says:

    i can relate to this, bunny, but you put it much more eloquently than i ever could.
    sending lots of *Love* & bunches of *sparkly squishy hugs* ♥

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I believe that one must do the things they want to do in order to get through the things they don’t want to do . . . . and sometimes they have to play hookie from the have-tos to do the want-tos! 🙂

  3. That’s beautiful Joanne.

Leave a Reply

