October Words

Posted: October 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

I joined a new social network thanks to a new friend on Twitter named Shaf. He gave me an invitation. The site is call Ello and it is supposed to be the next big thing. Right now, it is quiet there and so each day I’ve tried to write down some of the words that roll around as I sit and have coffee. Here they are. Thank you Joanne for wanting to read them. Joanne is a very supportive person and has helped given me confidence with sharing my words.

Fingers made of wind~~combed Autumn colored trees~~parting of the ways #Haiku jmf 10/04/2014

Running the distance~~acres and miles to go~~steady and pacing #Haiku jmf 10/05/2014

Today is now covered with darkness jmf #sixwords

Untitled by Joanne M. Firth

No water at the well

Dried up long ago

A bucket hangs

From a threadbare rope

It’s purpose foreclosed

 ~*~

No water at the river

Pebbles and sand remain

A row boat gone aground

Rusty anchor lays in wait

Useless and decaying

 ~*~

No water at the sea

Last tide took it all

So much waste

So much excess

So much greed

Nothing last forever

jmf 10/10/2014

Fog by Joanne M. Firth

Covered in mist

Visible in a ghost-like way

Obscuring the daylight

Curtain filtering noon’s call

Covered in mist

I don’t mind at all

jmf
10/11/2014

Untitled by Joanne M. Firth

If there were less words to speak

If there were less words to write

Less to choose from to describe

Less to choose from to explain

       ~*~

How many words do we need?

How many words do we want?

Who knows them all?

Who needs them all?

       ~*~

Are there too many ways

To say “I love you”?

Are there too many ways

To say “goodbye”?

        ~*~ 

If it becomes confusing

And your mind struggles

From unending choices

Simplify

And stop trying so damn hard.

jmf 10/12/2014

When my outlet needs to be quiet and unseen, I use words. I think them, write them or read them. The storm will eventually pass and no harm will be done. Right or wrong, it is who I have become. Meek. jmf 10/12/2014

Untitled by Joanne M. Firth

Threads, strings, ropes, chords and cables

They can tie you down

They can hold you in

They can tether you safely aloft

So you don’t get too high

They can reel you in

And tangle your feet

They can stay attached

Or be broken

They can be a lifeline

Or cause you to fall

Threads, strings, ropes, chords and cables

It’s all relative

Necessary

And up to you

To tie and untie

jmf 10/13/2014

Comments
  1. dani says:

    you know i love your poetry!

    “Fingers made of wind~~combed Autumn colored trees~~parting of the ways

    is an absolutely exquisite haiku!

  2. Ooops. I guess I did reply. Oh well, you more than deserve two.

  3. Joanne, I can’t say how grateful I am for you. Your constant support means the word to me and you are the wind under my wings here. I feel braver when it comes to sharing because of you. For all that you do and have done to encourage me to write and then post things I’ve written, I couldn’t never properly express my gratitude. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to come here, read and leave a comment. You are a rare jewel and I am so lucky to know just how much you shine. xoxo

  4. OpinionsToGo says:

    Joanne, I am so moved by your poems. They speak volumes, and paint images, and take the reader to the place that you are at. Thank you for sharing.

    • I am just finding this comment now Joanne. Sorry for the delay in replying. Thank YOU for giving me the courage to share and for taking the time to stop by, read and leave a comment. I cherish your words. xo

Leave a Reply

