The Marching Fog

Posted: March 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

As I never wander far from home

Beautiful sites present themselves to me

For me alone

Through my window’

Today’s show was spectacular

Enough to make words about it

Tumble and tumble

Until I write them down

Through my window today

I saw the clouds descend

And march across the January snow

One after another

For a moment, I thought the house afire

So thick, these clouds

Yet they smelled not of smoke

But of new spring air

In them I saw

Tattered, brass buttoned soldiers

And mothers and fathers

Marching through my yard

Trying to come back to fight the wars not won

A manifestation of my melancholy

The elements collided

In plain view

Opaque and transparent

Bringing home the lost

Rolling in like silent thunder

As you sat in traffic

Or stirring your pot

I watched

And watched

A show for the ages

Played just for me

From my seat, I wanted to leap

Bare foot and barely clad

Through my window

To dance in the clouds

To glean whatever magic they held

To be healed

To feel alive

Once more

Today, the clouds descended

And marched through my yard

Over January snow

A sight I may never see again

And nothing but these words

To capture what I breathtakingly beheld

For whom else do you know

Did the fog march for today?

March 26, 2015

Coventry, CT

fog

Comments
  1. dani says:

    i may as well add a third comment {smile} i’m so confused on how things work on twitter now! i thought my first comment was going to be a tweet in reply to your tweet of this post. would you mind deleting the first comment that includes the link plus this comment? i did a new, actual comment and a new, actual tweet. thank you, sweetheart! xoxo

  2. dani says:

    I love this, Joanne! Stunning! Such gorgeous imagery and too many amazing lines to quote.

    Happy Easter hunny bunny!
    Love you so much! *Big Squishy Hugs*

  3. dani says:

    Your poem “The Marching Fog” is stunning!!! @JoanneMFirth Happy Easter hunny bunny! ♥ *Big Squishy Hugs* https://joannefirth.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/the-marching-fog/

Leave a Reply

